Memories for Jo…..

Good Morning crafters, I hope that everyone is getting ready for their long holiday weekend here in Canada.  The weather here in Halifax is BEAUTIFUL today but I am inside doing some crafting…some chores….some laundry…lol….I am heading home to Yarmouth tomorrow for my Step-Mother’s 75th birthday.  The family is throwing her a celebration at one of the community halls in our area on Sunday.  She asked for no gifts, but I couldn’t go empty handed.  I decided to make her a memory book for the evenings events.  I created this book and passed the word on for people that are attending to bring pictures etc of great memories with Jo…I will be ‘Smashing’ the pictures through out the evening and presenting it to her at the end of the night.  I also brought a Sharpie marker for party goers to send her well wishes or recount a story about her.  I kept the book simple as there are A LOT of people attending.  Here are pictures of some of the pages from the book:


I used a K&Company paper line that I picked up on clearance at Joann’s when we were there last summer.  It was such a good deal, I just couldn’t pass it up.  It had matching embellishments and alphas.  It came in handy for this project.  I used everything it had in the kit and picked up some flowers that I had in my stash.  I used a variety of my Martha Stewart Deep Edge Punches as boarders to each page.  I had some metal embellishments in my stash that I added to some of the pages.  I added a picture of Jim, My Dad and Step-Mother and I on our wedding day and made a pocket out of my photo mat and added a private note to her.  I used my Cinch for the first time to bind this book but once I was done with the embellishments, it was TOO chunky to close the rings.  I opted to use my ribbons that I picked up at The Cutting Garden this week.  This way, it has room to expand if need be.  I added a flower, bow and hand made stick pin on the cover.  I hope that she likes this project.

Happy Canada Day everyone!

Thanks for peeking in!

 

4 thoughts on “Memories for Jo…..

  1. Awesome job Melanie! Love that paper. I do believe I have it! Such a great idea and I love the ribbons instead of the rings.

    Debbie
    ^..^

  2. Pingback: Today I Married My Best Friend…. | Sunflower Mel's Crafting Corner

Leave a Reply

