Sad Day Here

Morning all, we had a sad day here yesterday.  We had to put my oldest cat, Zoey, whom I’ve had for 14 years to sleep yesterday.  I came home from running errands and her and Theo (our youngest cat) tussled (which is a daily thing) and she howled.  I broke them up.  Zoey appeared to be in respiratory distress.  Her breathing the last couple of weeks had been a bit off but was in good health (eating, playing, drinking).  I ended up taking her into the vet.

The Vet told me that cats are able to hide (compensate for) heart issues until it was too late.  They gave her oxygen but were unable to stabilize her.  They said that there were a lot of things that they could do to try and help her but the vet assistant finally told me that none of them were going to do any good.  So Jim and I made the hardest decision ever, to put her to sleep. They gave us some time with her and we said our goodbyes.

To say the least, I am devastated but know she is better off (so I keep telling myself).  Life around here doesn’t seem the same.  She has been part of my life for 14 years, longer then I have been with Jim…lol.

123_23936625704_950_n 123_23936630704_6922_n 123_23936760704_5565_nI just felt I needed to share this today.

Thanks for peeking in and have a great weekend.

mel

 

4 thoughts on “Sad Day Here

  1. Much love sent your way Mel xo
    I know very well the feeling of losing the unconditional love of a furry companion. Take care and comfort in knowing Zoey is in a better place and you did what you needed to do for her. xo

  2. That decision, despite being so incredibly hard for us, is I believe, the last loving thing we can do for our furry companions. So sorry for your loss – I can empathize with your feelings of deep sadness. Love your beautiful photos of her!

    • Thanks Laurie,
      It was the hardest thing I have ever had to do. It was for the best, but it doesn’t make it easier today….I am such a softy and she was my fur baby, she will be missed.
      ~Mel~

Leave a Reply

